Minutes Special Meeting December 15, 2011

Wabasha County Board of Commissioners

Special Meeting of December 15, 2011


The Board of County Commissioners of Wabasha County, Minnesota, convened in Special Session at the Wabasha County Courthouse, in the City of Wabasha, Minnesota on Tuesday, December 15, 2011 at 9 a.m.


The meeting was called to order by Board Chairman Norman.


The following Commissioners were present: Norman, Hall, Roschen, Wobbe, Harms


Chairman Norman appointed Erick Kaardal Parliamentarian Counsel and gave him a seat at the table. Mr. Kaardal gave an update to the board on the possible agreement between Dave Johnson and the County Board.

Lisa Bailey, Attorney for Dave Johnson also spoke on the possible agreement.



Resolution No.: 2011 - 286

It appears that a settlement may be reached between David Johnson and the County regarding what happens if the Office of County Administrator is abolished.

Now therefore, the County Board authorizes Merl Norman as County Board Chair with the assistance of Counsel Erick Kaardal to enter into such agreement on behalf of the County.

Motion Adopted. Norman, Roschen, Harms - AYE & Wobbe, Hall- NAY


Chairman Norman recessed the meeting for 15 minutes to allow time to make copies of the agreement for the Board.



Resolution No.: 2011- 287

Be it resolved, the County Board approves the settlement agreement executed by Dave Johnson and Merl Norman on December 15, 2011. The agreement is attached.

Motion Adopted. Norman, Roschen, Harms - AYE & Wobbe, Hall- NAY



Motion to approve the agenda.

Motion Adopted. Norman, Roschen, Harms - AYE & Wobbe, Hall- NAY



Resolution No.: 2011- 288

Whereas, the Board of Commissioners exercised it statutory powers to create in 1993, through parliamentary procedures, the Office of County Administrator thereby establishing a governmental structure referred to as a county administrator plan;

Whereas, the Board of Commissioners presently desires to change the present form of government through the elimination of the Office of County Administrator;

Whereas, Minn. Stat. 375A.12, subd. 6 states that "[a]ny optional plan or other option provided for in sections 375A.01 to 375A.13 may be abandoned by the same procedures required for the option of the optional plan or the option;"

Whereas, with the abolishment of the Office of County Administrator, the Board of Commissioners may also explore other governmental structures for a more efficient and effective use of limited County resources such as, but not limited to, the appointment of a County Coordinator;

Now, Therefore, Be It Resolved, that the Board of Commissioners abolishes the Wabasha Office of County Administrator effective January 1, 2012;

Be It Further Resolved, that all County Department Heads are to cooperatively coordinate and interact with each other department to ensure the appropriate responsibilities once within the control of the County Administrator are accepted and carried out in a manner that will minimize any disruption to internal and external services to County citizens;

Be It Further Resolved, that all Department Heads will report to the Board at its next regularly scheduled meeting to discuss the transition of authority from the County Administrator's Office to that Department;

Be It Further Resolved, all issues regarding the transition of authority, if not immediately resolved or effective, shall be immediately reported to the designated Commissioner for consideration.

Motion Adopted. Norman, Roschen, Harms - AYE & Wobbe, Hall- NAY



Motion to adjourn to Association of Minnesota Counties Conference.

Adopted Unanimously.


Free Joomla template design by Joomlage.com