Election Information

Election results are available via the link below:

Wabasha County strongly encourages its citizens to vote. Voting is one of the most important rights and responsibilities that US Citizens have. We hope that the election information provided here will help in your decision on where to vote, when to vote, who to vote for, and why voting is important.

Where do I vote?
Click here to find out your polling location. You may also click here to see a map of polling locations within Wabasha County.

NOTE: If you are a registered voter and reside within the Cities of Bellechester, Hammond, Millville, Minneiska, or Zumbro Falls OR the Townships of Hyde Park, Minneiska, or Oakwood, you will be receiving a ballot in the mail for both the primary and general elections. To vote, you have two options: 1. Be sure to mail your ballot into the Auditor/Treasurer's Office prior to the primary or general election (it MUST be received on or before election day by the Auditor/Treasurer's Office). 2. You may vote at the Wabasha County Auditor/Treasurer's Office on the day of the primary and/or general elections between 7 AM and 8 PM. The Auditor/Treasurer's Office is located at 625 Jefferson Ave. in Wabasha, in the Old Courthouse Annex. For questions, please contact the Auditor/Treasurer's Office at 651-565-2648.

When do I vote?
This year's elections will be held on the following dates:

  • Primary Elections:  August 11, 2020
  • General Election:     November 3, 2020

Am I eligible to vote?
You are eligible to vote in Minnesota if you:

  • Are at least 18 years or older
  • Are a citizen of the United States
  • Are a resident of Minnesota for at least 20 days before Election Day
  • Have any felony conviction record discharged, expired, or completed
  • Are not under a guardianship in which the court order revokes the right to vote
  • Have not been ruled legally incompetent by a court of law

How do I register to vote?
Stop by the Wabasha County Auditor/Treasurer's Office at 625 Jefferson Avenue in Wabasha between 8 AM and 4 PM Monday - Friday, or you may register by clicking here. You may also register when applying for or renewing your driver's license. It's important to note that you will not be able to register within 20 days of an election. If you miss the cut-off date, you may register at your polling location on the day of the election. 

What if I'm unable to make it to my polling location on Election Day?
Minnesota law now allows anyone to vote early by voting absentee. For an absentee ballot, stop by the Wabasha County Auditor/Treasurer's Office at 625 Jefferson Avenue in Wabasha between 8 AM and 4 PM Monday - Friday, or you may apply for an absentee ballot by clicking here. You can check out the status of your absentee ballot here.

Who do I vote for?
Who (or what) you will be voting for varies by election. Some examples of who or what you'd vote for are: Federal Offices (such as President or Senator), State Offices (such as Governor or State Senator), County Offices (such as Commissioner), Judges, Local Offices (such as City Mayor), School Board members or school referendums, State Constitutional Amendments, and more.
You can find out who's running for various offices by doing a search on the Minnesota Secretary of State's website. A map of the various districts is listed at the bottom of this page.

If you're unsure of who represents your ideals best, you should contact them by phone or email. There is also a wealth of information on your candidates on the World Wide Web. Sites such as Project Vote Smart are continually researching candidates for many different federal and state office and can help you decide who best represents you.

What will the ballot look like?
You can see a copy of your sample ballot on the Minnesota Secretary of State's website by entering your address information here.

Where can I find Campaign Finance Reports?
Campaign Finance Reports can be found here

Can I help out with the election?
Yes, the most common way to be involved is by being an election judge. Election judges work at the polling place and assist voters in casting their ballots. Election judges are also responsible to verify proper voting and to protect the rights of all voters. Training is provided for all election judges prior to the elections. 

For more information about becoming an election judge and/or to submit an election judge interest form, please click here. Completed interest forms may be emailed to election@co.wabasha.mn.us or can be mailed to the following address:

Wabasha County Auditor/Treasurer
625 Jefferson Ave.
Wabasha, MN 55981

I have questions that haven't been answered here. Who can I talk to?
First, we'd suggest you chek out the educational videos below, and be sure to check out Minnesota Secretary of State's Elections & Voting page. If you still have questions, please contact the Wabasha County Auditor/Treasurer's Office at 651-565-2648.

Maps for Election Districts:

Wabasha County Commissioner Districts
Wabasha County has 5 non-partisan commissioner districts that serve 4 year terms. Districts 2, 4, and 5 are up for election in 2018 and Districts 1 and 3 are up for election in 2020.

Map for MN House Districts
Wabasha County falls within 2 partisan house districts - Districts 21A & 21B - that serve 2 year terms. All house districts are up for election in 2018.

Map for MN Senate Districts
Wabasha County falls within 1 partisan Senate district - District 21 - that generally serves a 4 year term. All Senate Districts are up for election in 2020.

Map for US House Congressional Districts
Wabasha County is completely in partisan Congressional District 2. All congressional districts serve 2 year terms.

US Senate Districts
Minnesota has two senators that serve 6 year terms, as does each state in the US. One of the Senators is up for election in 2018 and the other will be up for election in 2020.*

*Primary & General special elections will be held for the seat held by former Senator Franken, now held by Senator Smith. The Senator elected in November will finish the current term and another election for that seat will be held in 2020.

Voter Education Videos: