Child Care Licensing

Wabasha County Child Care Licensing Information
Phone: (651) 565-3351
Request to speak with Wabasha County's Child Care Licensor

 


Daycare Information for Parents

  1. Department of Human Services Licensing Lookup ~ Use this link to find a list of daycare providers in your area

  2. Families First

  3. Quality Child Care in Minnesota

  4. Parent Aware

  5. New Rule Summary

  6. Immunization Form Required

  7. Your Child's Safety in Licensed Family Child Care


Initial Licensing

If you are interested in becoming licensed to provide child care in Wabasha County please reach out to the Licensor to schedule a meeting. You can expect to discuss the licensing process, requirements, and rules and statutes related to licensing. Below find many of the forms to get started. To begin the licensing process submit a completed Family Systems Licensing Application, Physcian's Report, Data Collection Form(s), and the Licensing Fee.

General Licensing Information

  1. Family Systems Licensing Application

  2. Licensing Requirements ChecklistDaycare Provider Heart and Hands

  3. Day Care Home Form

  4. Privacy Rights

  5. Physician's Statement

  6. Provider's Agreement

  7. Day Care Statement

  8. Floor and Escape Plans (make 2 copies, one for you to post and one to send to the licensor)

  9. Minnesota Workers’ Compensation Law Certificate of Compliance

  10. Keeping Kids Safe

  11. Licensing Fee:

    • Initial License for 1 year: $50
    • State Fire Marshal Fee (if applicable): $50
    • After first year 2 year license for $100

 


Applicants will need to show documentation that the following training has been completed prior to licensure:

  • First Aid Training (Pediatric)

  • CPR training (Infant/Child)

  • Reducing the Risk of SUID Training

  • Abusive Head Trauma Training

  • Child Passenger Restraint Systems Training (required prior to transporting children)

  • Developmentally Appropriate Behavior Guidance - 4 Hour Pre-Service Course

  • Supervising for Safety - For Family Child Care

  • Training Requirements Guidelines

For Licensed Providers

 


Forms & Documents

Documentation required for every child in family day care

Documentation family child care license holders must maintain

Additional family child care license holder forms and information

 

Variance Request


Day care licensing rules are defined by the Minnesota Department of Human Services for the State of Minnesota.
For more information about the rules regarding daycares go to the following links:

The purpose of the rules are to ensure that minimum levels of care and service are given and the protection, proper care, health, safety and development of the children are assured.


General Information and Forms

 

The Minnesota Department of Human Services maintains a searchable database of licensed child care providers.   You can access this database by clicking here.    Look under “Family Child Care” in the “License Type” area for your city or county if you are searching for in-home day care.  If you are searching for a child care center look under “Child Care Center” in the “License Type” area.

Parent Aware 

Access the Parent Aware website and provider database by clicking here. This site provides ratings for providers who participate in the Parent Aware rating program as well as a list of providers not participating in the rating program.