Mandated Reporting

Reporting Child Maltreatment

Minnesota Statute Sec. 626.556 requires professionals and their delegates who work with children to make a child protection report if they know of or have reason to believe a child:
                                    i.      Is being neglected or abused, or
                                    ii.      Has been neglected or abused within the preceding three years. 

Mandated reporters shall make an oral report IMMEDIATELY by phone to be followed within 72 hours, exclusive of weekends and holidays by a report in writing.

The brochure below describes who should report suspected maltreatment, what to report, what will be asked, where to report, when to report, and what happens after a report is made: 
The Suspected Child Maltreatment Reporting Form below shall be used by mandated reporters when making reports to Wabasha County Social Services:

In an effort to ensure that appropriate and timely action is taken on all written reports, a centralized email system (i.e. common entry point) has been developed to accept reports of suspected maltreatment of children. Written reports must be transmitted to Wabasha County Social Services using one of the following methods:  

Fax:                (651)565-3084
Walk-In:         411 Hiawatha Drive East Wabasha, MN 55981
                        Request to speak with the Intake Social Worker

For after-hours, weekend, and/or holiday written reports of maltreatment, please only utilize email as your means of providing reports to Wabasha County Social Services.   

Verbal reports of suspected child maltreatment must be made immediately (no longer than 24 hours) to the local child welfare agency. Between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. Monday through Friday, please contact Child Protection Intake by using one of the following methods: 

Phone:           (651)565-3351
                        Request to speak with the Intake Social Worker
Walk-In:         411 Hiawatha Drive East Wabasha, MN 55981
Request to speak with the Intake Social Worker

*For after-hours, weekend, and/or holiday verbal reports of maltreatment, please call the Wabasha County Sheriff’s Office at: (651)565-3361.

If you know or suspect that a child is in immediate danger (such as a recent sexual assault or a serious physical assault) or a child is abandoned, contact your local law enforcement agency right away. If child is not in immediate danger, as soon as you have reason to believe a child has been maltreated, you should contact your local child welfare agency: Wabasha County Social Services.

Additional information may be found on the Minnesota Department of Human Services website: 
Mandated Reporter - Training Overview

Reporting Adult Maltreatment

Mandated reporters, including law enforcement, educators, doctors, nurses, social workers and other licensed professionals, can use a web-based online reporting system. The online mandated reporting form asks for information about the vulnerable adult, suspected maltreatment and alleged perpetrator. When the completed form is submitted, mandated reporters will receive a report reference number for their records. Mandated reporters can download, save and print a copy of their report.

Reporting by phone remains an option for mandated reporters.  Please call MAARC at 1-844-880-1574

If you are reporting an emergency that requires immediate assistance from the police / sheriff, fire department or an ambulance, call 911 first, then call MAARC.